Are you happy now?

I try to do it right, you know, life. For the past four years I’ve begrudgingly lived by the book. As it stands I’ve come out, if not sickeningly ordinary, mildly better because of it and I’d consider either/or a success. Now let’s not despair; I’ve danced with the wild, drank with the fish, and seen my share of glory days. I’ve fought a war, watched an inauguration in person, and survived Times Square on a new years eve. What does it all mean, though? Am I (supposed to be) building my arsenal of happiness, thoughts to be revisited when I’m melancholy? Should I be in a perpetual state of happy, letting old memories die to the new ones I’m (supposed to be) creating? At this point I wonder if it was enough. If it IS enough. As macabre as it may be, I wonder if I’d be satisfied with my life if I were to die in an hour. The answer varies. Sometimes I let my dramatics get the best of me (that’s because they are the best of me!) The long and short of it I guess is, are you happy now?

5 thoughts on “Are you happy now?

  1. I am happy myself in some parts of life, but others are a real drag. I wonder myself what is the key to happiness. I don’t think I’ve reached my state of enlightenment to reach happiness beyond this world bs…but I hope it comes sooner than later cuz this sht gets to you after awhile with the bs everyday.

    Like

    1. I figure if you treat happiness like a tangible object it is unattainable. Give it fluidity and the power to be an idea and you’ll have better success reaching a “state of happiness” rather than a thing.

      Like

  2. To answer your question, I’m happy on the surface but underneath I would say I’m an emotional wreck. Some life experiences, though liberating, caused more despair than the initial happiness that was sought out. I believe that eventually I will get to my happiness but until then I must begrudgingly accept my current state and look hopefully toward the future.

    Like

    1. I see a commonality where we try to make happiness these tangible things. What if we took our experiences, good and bad, and bred an idea of long lasting happiness either because we loved the experience or survived it. The experience itself doesn’t harbor the happiness, I think. It’s the experience in the experience where we find the ideal happy. Get it? Lol

      Like

  3. im happy but my happiness comes from my son, all my problems goes away when hes n my arms. before his birth i was constantly fighting my emotions with myself. tying to find my ow path instead of listening to outsiders telling me they know whats best for me and even go so far as making decisions for me without me knowing. if it wasnt for my husband or my son i would still be fighting these battles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

